WHAT BARN CAMERA’S COST-SHEARING DAY-UPDATE ON THE NEW CATS-THE SIMPLE THINGS OF EVERYDAY LIFE ON THE FARM

17 03 2019

GREETINGS AND HAPPY SAINT PATRICK AND SAINT GERTRUDE’S DAY

I saw my first Fisher Cat last week.  It was beautiful with is shiny dark brown coat and long fluffy tail.  Running across the road from the river to the woods.  I am glad that he is not living near my house but there probably are some in my back woods.

IMG_8380

Typical weather for March, yesterday highs in the 60’s, today flurries turned into a mini snowstorm.  Spring is coming all the sap makers are boiling and its spring tourist season in the hills.

WHAT BARN CAM’S COST

The barn camera that my grandson, Ricky set up cost about $50. for everything.  I took some time to set up and run the wires to the internet, but it  is sure worth it.

SHEARING DAY

IMG_8359

Arron shearing Maude, he commented she was easy to catch and then saw that an eye was missing , she just didn’t see him coming!

Ricky was here to help and Aaron came promptly mid afternoon.  It went very smooth and the sheep all look in great shape.  The fleeces are beautiful and next week I hope to get some of them sorted to go to Green Mountain to be spun into yarn and for some roving.  I am doing the white first then the dark,

Its been a week since the shearing and they are still head butting.  Sheep are so funny.   Its gotten warm enough for them to go out and they did enjoy the warm temps and sunshine.

INKY BROTHERS AND THE NEW CAT (MOXIE) WHICH I AM RENAMING  OWEN

The Inky Brothers have settled in.  I rarely see them and that’s fine after all that they have been through I am not surprised/  It will take a very long time to gain their trust.  Inky 1  is in the window a lot .  They play hard you can hear them running around from downstairs.  They love cat nip toys and are hardy eaters.  

Owen was harder than I thought.  He had been with the same family for years and it was quite upsetting for him to be moved.  He is now leaving the bedroom and roaming around a little and has begun to trust me.  He will be going to the vet soon for a check up.

IMG_8316

                   Owen 

THE SIMPLE  THINGS OF EVERYDAY LIFE HERE ON THE FARM

Simple things happen everyday here on the farm.  Sometimes i overlook them but now I am trying to be more aware of them and will share them with you.

The sheep have to be locked in every night here on the farm.  Their pasture abuts miles and miles of thick forest, where many things such as coyotes, Mountain  Lions, Although the state of Massachusetts says none of these exist here many people have seen them now very close to this farm.  

As I opened the barn door this morning right in front of it was these two grape-vine branches.    A gift for spring.  Soon they will me made into a pussy willow covered wreath   Such a simple thing but its presence on window in the dining room will make me smile and know that spring is just around the corner.

 

IMG_8378

Many thanks for ready my blog on this brisk Saturday.  I hope you all have a wonderful weekend.

Carole

IMG_8379

 

 

 


Actions

Information

2 responses

28 04 2019
Kellie from Indiana

So nice to read about the farm again Carole. Have been through trying times past few years and am now dealing with health issues so have not kept up with online stuff. Take care.

22 03 2020
wspines

Kellie hope you are okay, I too have health issues. Hope to get back to the blog.

Leave a comment