Farmers Market – Spinning

21 07 2012

  Hello

Today I went to 2 Farmers Markets, one in Edgewater and the other in New Smyrna Beach.

I do love visiting farmers markets in other towns.  Seeing local produce and products is always so interesting.  The picture on the side is  the New Smyrna Beach Spinners.  I was surprised and delighted to see ladies spinning.  They had a big tent full of spinning and knitting supplies and some wonderful soap.  The lady at the wheel raises alpaca’s nearby.

The market had handmade baskets from Africa, someone was playing the steel drums, it gave the place a real Caribbean feel.  There were people selling produce and jewelry, flowers and many other things.

Vern and  Fran from Chantilly Ridge alpacas  were close to the entrance and I had a wonderful chat with them.  I bought a ball of her black handspun alpaca yarn .  She said she was just learning to spin, you could have fooled me, it looked like she had been spinning for years.  It will add a colorful interest to one of the hats that I am knitting.

They have a farm which is a short ride from New Smyrna Beach and I hope to go there on my next visit to Florida.  They have just  opened a B&B and sell roving and yarn.  There were finished good there too.

Chris and I will be heading home tomorrow, he will get back to his life in Wayland and I will be back on the farm.  I miss the animals and hope that the blackberries are ripe.  The barn is full of hay now and I hope to get at least another 100 bales in August.   The summer is flying by.

Happy Day To You


Actions

Information

Leave a comment